Closing One Door To Open Another

andI’m not sure if I have shared with you about a very painful decision my husband and I have recently made this November. We were associate pastors at a church we attended for over thirty years. During that time we have been through many ups and downs with them. Been through many marriages, babies being born, and loved ones dying. When you grow up in the church, it’s no longer a congregation but your family.

It wasn’t until this year though, God had been stirring us to fly. I can’t explain it except for even though we enjoyed the warmth of love we felt from our brothers and sisters, we kept hurting for the ones in trauma, alone, without the strength of the family we had been given inside the four walls. We kept plugging away with trying to build a bigger and better church, until one day the foundation began to crumble. Our ways of trying to fix the very structure we helped build a comfortable life underneath, was no longer wanted by our headship.

A month before the roof came crashing down around us, God had told us that we are pastors outside of the four walls. He is calling us to reach the broken-hearted. He even downloaded a whole outline based on the American Red Cross, with trauma centers, counseling, health and wellness clinics, suicide hotlines, etc. Our desire was to add this to our church. God’s desire was to add this to the community.

Ever since that day we have felt alone and searching. There are times we have felt like orphans, and other days we wonder, did we do the right thing? My biggest cry out to God lately has been how on earth does just our family start a red cross ministry? It’s just too big God.

But God. . .

Valentine’s day is here, and I have been invited to be the seventh and last member of a new ministry that has just begun in our community called First Responders. I went to see if this was anyway in connection to the vision God had given to Eric and I. They were working on a flyer that explains all the types of ministries they are making available to Flagstaff and showed it to me. I look at it and tears begin to well up. Right at the top of the page is their symbol; a red cross sign. Bellow that is counseling, wellness center, intercessory prayer. They begin to explain their vision. To go outside of the four walls of the church to rescue the broken in the middle of emergencies, the one’s in trauma, and get them immediate help. I knew if I had released those tears I would be bawling and not able to compose myself. When asked what I could contribute I took out my notebook of downloads from God and their mouths dropped open. It was like two halves of a picture were brought together and we could all see that God had put this group together.

They were excited about adding a youth center with suicide prevention counseling and hotline.

I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but I am amazed that today I have walked into God’s will and not my own works.

3 Comments

Filed under Inspirations

3 responses to “Closing One Door To Open Another

  1. Pamela… This is extraordinary… When you say God downloaded …. how do you mean… I’m just wondering about that particular aspect of this wonderful story….Diane

    • sure, while in prayer I heard God tell me to look up the Red cross history, and what it does today. When I did it was like certain words became highlighted. For example, it was birthed in Switzerland, which is a neutral country. I felt a pushing on my heart that was important began to pray and realize God is not into denominations. He wants to help the wounded and broken and for this ministry not to be connected to one church, but neutral. Then as I read the list of the red cross It was just like my mind was a computer and God was putting truth and understanding about the similarities of what He wanted. For example there are 5 critical areas the Red Cross provides compassion:
      1. people affected by disaster in our Nation. We need to minister to the spiritual and emotional needs of people affected by disaster in our own sphere of influence.
      2. Support for soldiers. (to support the Christian “soldiers” that get wounded in the battle themselves.
      3. Blood study (the blood of Jesus is a power source of life. Studying it our selves and then distributing it in our community.)
      4. health and education training. (Setting up counseling and teaching centers that promote preventative teaching. Health before they need healing. I personally believe foster care falls into this category.)
      5. Internationally. (Missions trips that we can help set up these facilities of counseling and prayer teams all over the world.)
      That was probably more than you were looking for, but I hope that helps 🙂 God Bless!

Leave a Reply

