Eggplant Takes Over Lasagna

eggplant takes over lasagnaI am excited to share this new recipe I dreamed up.

I actually created it out of two cravings I had for eggplant parmesan and the creamy comfort food of baked lasagna.

  • I sliced 2 eggplants into disks (with skin still on) and put them into a colander, sprinkled with sea salt and let sit for 30 minutes. (This pulls out all of the bitter taste eggplant can have.)
  • Next I took a little olive oil in a skillet and sautéed,  some diced onions, peppers, and mushrooms along with minced garlic.
  • I then browned 1 lb. of hot Italian elk sausage I had, with the veggies, ( you can use ground Italian seasoned turkey meat as well.) When the veggies softened and meat browned, I added some Classico spaghetti sauce and about a 1/4 of a cup of this amazing product I found at World market.

It’s in the Italian aisle and it’s called, “Marco Polo red pepper spread  w/ eggplant and garlic(hot ajvar)” It is low carb and no fat. I have been using it as a spread on sandwiches, mixing it with light mayo. It has also made the best grilled zucchini and summer squash by simply mixing it with Italian seasonings and Parmesan cheese and then brushing it on the sliced veggies before grilling. Just make sure to slice the squashes long ways.

Sorry, back to the original recipe.

  • While the sauce is simmering on low I made a box of, “Near East garlic and olive oil couscous (which only took 5 min.).
  • After the couscous cooked I stirred in low-fat cottage cheese (you could use ricotta cheese, I just used what I had in my fridge.)
  • Then I rinsed the eggplant and placed them on an oiled cookie sheet or baking dish. and brushed them with olive oil and baked them at 400 degrees for about 10 min. until softened.
  •  I  took out the eggplant and spooned the couscous mixture on half of the disks. Next I spooned some of the sauce and placed another eggplant slice, more sauce, and topped with mozzarella.
  • I baked them at 350 degrees for about 10 more minutes or until cheese melted and served with a salad.

It was low-fat, low carb, loaded with veggies, and a great comfort food. Also it makes a sophisticated presentation  for company. The best part is it was so fast and easy to make with the box couscous (or quinoa would work also) and jar sauce.

Grocery List of ingredients:

  1. 2 eggplants, 1/2 sweet onion, sliced mushrooms, 1/2 bell pepper
  2. 1 jar Classico spaghetti sauce
  3. Marco Polo red pepper spread  w/ eggplant and garlic(hot ajvar)
  4. olive oil
  5. Italian seasoned turkey meat
  6. Near East garlic and olive oil couscous
  7. low-fat cottage cheese (you could use ricotta)
  8. mozzarella

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

