Moving On

Autumn is my favorite season of the year because of the leaves turning the color of flames, hot apple cider, and carving pumpkins. Unfortunately every October, beginning with my mother’s death in 1999 I have been hit with an assortment of horror. Suicide, rape, unfaithfulness, mental disorders, and alcoholism have been the biggest blows that have either hit me personally or my children.
 God has restored all of the brokenness and healed every wound, but every time the bitter winds rattle the leaves and there vibrant colors fall to rot at my feet I brace myself for another blow.
 This October is different. The wind is still howling but a warm fire of peace is roaring deep inside my soul. I have decided not to join in ‘celebrating fear’ this Halloween, but to take back the night by smashing the memories that try and snuff out the Joy of living.
I would like to end this post with a poem I wrote for my spiritual son, Patrick who took his life after fighting in the war against terrorism.
To Our Beloved
There will come a day when Jesus rescues His beloved
In this world or beyond.
We can rest in the arms of grace,
to right all the wrongs.
Allowing Him to reach into our realm of existence
And bring us into His truth.
Death has been swallowed up in Life!
We have a hope and a future!
A future to walk victoriously on the path
that has been set before us.
With this steadfast truth,
let us carry Patrick’s memory in our hearts,
While carrying out God’s will
To reach out and rescue
His Beloved.
We might not know what our future holds, but we know who holds our future.
2 Comments

Filed under Poetically Speaking

2 responses to “Moving On

  1. Very beautiful poem and sentiments…Diane

Leave a Reply

