“Road Warrior” and Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

It is Friday morning and I have just dropped our girls off at Flag High, and continue to drive down the road to head to my workout class. I am utterly enjoying an audio book I picked up at the library called The Canning Season. It is a delightful YA novel with a Fried Green Tomato meets Thelma and Louise feel about it. There are two hilarious old aunties that live in the back woods of Maine with no modern conveniences. One is sweet, gentle, and decided they should become Buddhist so she can invite anyone who comes to the door to live with them. The other is as tough and grizzly as the bears in the woods and drinks as much as the loggers in the tavern. (Did I mention they are 90-year-old twins?)

Any-who (as they would say) I begin to slow down for the red light in front of me when I spot this “Road Warrior” just feet away from my mini. Wow, is all I can say, but my thoughts jumble up in all sorts of directions until they stop in a tangle of one sentence, “What a character for a book!” This person needs to be written into a story somewhere! There was not one thread out of character on this warrior in front of me:

The motorcycle was perfectly formed to this warriors body like a mere extension. Dreadlocks spiked out of an army wrap like a shark fin. Piercing black riding goggles were the only separation between the muddied green bandana and black face mask. Two well-worn boots casually rocking the bike across the painted “no crossing” line. Smooth black leather chaps engulfing any Levis underneath. Blade strapped to the able body’s calf. Helmet and supplies held captive by a black net on the back. Well used army saddle bags comfortably ride along. Shoulders no wider than this person’s waist covered in a black padded jacket. Male or female, no one ever knows. This warrior of the highway gets the job done without anyone getting a chance to figure “it” out.

So instead of turning right to the safety of my cross-fit class and home, I decide in the spirit of the “Canning Sisters” to follow him (or her). Three red lights later and a highway sign to Page my safety net (AKA husband) calls and brings me out of my book coma. I do a brodie in the near by parking lot and head to class. How does this have anything remotely in common with Roasted red pepper humus you ask? Because I forgot to go to the grocery store and then I had to scrounge until I made the best hummus I ever made, (and I make hummus a lot). So without further adieu here it is:

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (easier than getting in the car and buying it)

  • 1 can of drained garbanzo beans (save some of the liquid)
  • 3 Tbsp. tahini
  • 1 or 2 cloves garlic
  • splash of lemon juice
  • 2 spoonfuls of roasted peppers (in a jar)
  • 1/8 c. Annie’s roasted red pepper dressing (or to taste)
  • salt to taste ( I also sprinkled in smoked paprika and coriander)

Put all in small food processor or blender contraption and add hummus liquid if need. Serve with cucumber, pepper, or zucchini slices, along with whole wheat pita. I drizzled olive oil and the dressing on top and sprinkled pine nuts on top.

Whatever inspires you try it. . . just make sure you have a safety net close by 😉

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirations, Recipes

One response to ““Road Warrior” and Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

  1. A funny story even if it distracted you somewhat….Diane

Leave a Reply

