Harvest Tacos Rule, Taco Bell drools. . . or is it I drool for Taco Bell

I know I shouldn’t admit it. . . but I love Taco Bell. The mystery about my life right now is I am surrounded with great healthy things like mountain bikes, health club membership, all kinds of fruits, veggies (even grass fed meats), great recipes, and kitchen gadgets, and sometimes I just want junk. Is there anyone else as crazy as me? I can be sitting at a gourmet sandwich shop eating my $12 organic kale salad and drooling at the guy leaving Taco Bell with his Doritos shelled tacos.

Unfortunately we can do this with other things too. We can have a beautiful family, house, marriage and still want what the other guy is having. I am working on appreciating what I have and not wanting what isn’t good for me physically, spiritually, and emotionally.

While Taco Bell meat might be made out of. . . well, we’ll leave that up to our imaginations. . . this “Harvest Taco” recipe I’m sharing with you is made up of veggies and ground turkey and seriously I have made it for the junk food king (my father in-law who sits on a lazy boy throne eating from a cleaned out trash can filled with snickers and Cheetos) he even loved it. You can also make a large amount of this and freeze it in smaller packages for using in the future when your craving nachos.

Now you know my cravings. What do you crave? Love to hear what they are, and do you have a healthy alternative your willing to share with us, or are you looking for one?

Harvest Tacos

  • 1 med. onion, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 c. coarsely grated zucchini
  • olive oil
  • 1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey
  • 1 tsp beef bullion paste
  • 1 c. El Pato tomato sauce (or reg.)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp corriander
  • 1/2 tsp. marjoram
  • 2 c. cooked beans (pinto, or kidney)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • dash pepper and granulated garlic

Saute onion, celery, and zucchini in oil.

Brown turkey with the bullion paste.

Add rest of ingredients and simmer for 15 minutes.

Take corn tortillas and either spray with olive oil spray or brush both sides with olive oil and bake in 400 degree oven for 3-5 min. until soft.

Put any toppings you like. I like lettuce, tomatoes, scallions, big chunks of avocados, Greek yogurt, cheese, and salsa.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

