Banana Daiquiri Cake from a recovering Sugar-holic

What seems like a life time ago, I was known as “the cake lady.” I loved making wedding cakes, that brides would call me later and tell me how a fight broke out over who would get the last piece of my Mexican chocolate, or years later her guests remember nothing else about her exquisite fall outdoor wedding but the applesauce cake with maple frosting and chia filling.

But years go on and my addiction for sugar ever increases. With diabetes running through my familytaking down aunts and uncles in it’s wake, I have sworn off sugar for over a year now. In my love for baking I have focused in on how to make healthy taste like a celebration. This cake recipe I have adapted from a great cookbook called, “Baking with Agave Nectar” by Ania Catalano is the only cake recipe I have found blog worthy so far. It is very dense and rich, and it makes you feel like a pirate when you eat it, how great is that! šŸ™‚

Preheat oven to 325, makes 9 in. cake, and 6 cupcakes

  • 1 C. agave or honey
  • 1/2 C. applesauce, and 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 6 ripe bananas
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 C. (or so) rum
  • 2 C. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 C. oat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch sea salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • dark chocolate chips to taste

In a large bowl mix with electric mixer, cream the agave, applesauce, oil, eggs, bananas, and vanilla.

In separate bowl combine flours, baking soda, salt, cinn., and nutmeg.

Add dry mixture to the wet, and mix on low speed until just combined.

Pour into prepared pans and lined cupcake pan.

Bake cake for 35 to 40 min., and cupcakes for 20 to 25 min.

When cooled frost with below frosting recipe. I like to sprinkle toasted coconut on top, and add some coconut and chopped walnuts into the cake when I toss in the chocolate chips.

Rum cream cheese frosting:

  • 6Tbsp. butter softened
  • 12 oz. low-fat Neufchatel cream cheese
  • 3/4 c. agave or honey
  • 1/2 Tbsp. vanilla
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tbsp. rum
3 Comments

March 25, 2012 · 3:08 pm

3 responses to “Banana Daiquiri Cake from a recovering Sugar-holic

  1. Oh!My!

    From one former baker and recovering sugar-holic to another: “THAT RECIPE LOOKS WONDERFUL!”

Leave a Reply

