Coconut mocha brownie surprise

The surprise ingredient is not mushrooms, but coming from a Portuguese health nut, it could be nothing less magical than black beans. As a child my father’s advice while eating out was always  “taste food once, and if you don’t like it, you never have to eat it again.” Every time we went to a Portuguese restaurant I would honor my dad’s golden rule, except when the black beans and rice was set before us. That black goo couldn’t possibly taste good. Finally one year (I think I was 12) my dad probably bribed me with malasadas (Portuguese dough boy) if I would just try one bite. I finally got brave and did it. I seriously remember my mouth swimming in sweet flavor and I think poetry sang from my lips all that evening about a new favorite food that had entered my life.

Black beans have been a staple in my life ever since, so when I heard about using these high protein, high fiber legumes to turn brownies magically healthy I had to try. And try I did, in fact I tried many times until I finally found a recipe that when I serve them everyone loves them and never knows the “surprise” ingredients I put in them…..except for my kids, and I can’t get them to even try one bite 😉

Recipe

  • 4 Tbsp. organic high quality cocoa powder
  • 4 oz. unsweetened bakers chocolate or dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c. unrefined coconut oil
  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 2 c. canned black beans (make sure there is no seasonings in them)
  • 1 cup walnuts, almonds, macedonia, or pecans, chopped
  • 1Tbsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 c. instant coffee granuals
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 c. light agave nectar
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened coconut shredded (opt.)
  • 1/2 tsp cinn. (opt.)

Preheat oven to 325. Spray a 11 by 18 in. pan. I put parchment paper down as well. Melt chocolate and butter, add cocoa powder, and coconut oil after until melted together. Place beans, *1/2 cup of nuts, vanilla, and a couple spoonfuls of melted mixture into food processor. Blend 2 min.

Add the  instant coffee, cinn., and salt to the melted chocolate mixture.

In separate bowl with an electric mixer beat the eggs until light and creamy. Add agave and mix well.

Add the bean/chocolate mixture and the coffee/chocolate mixture into the egg mixture. Mix well Pour the batter into the pan. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes until brownies are set.

*I sprinkled the coconut on the top with the rest of the nuts before baking, or you can put them into the batter when your adding the nuts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

