Crock-pot “Greek Chicken and Pesto Stew”

I have been personally struggling with my inner child who wants mac and cheese, and brownies everyday. When Old man winter tries to blow away spring’s arrival I crave comfort food. I have been inspired with some good soup ideas, and this one was a favorite. It was truly a “let’s pretend we are picking food from a spring garden in the Mediterranean and make it into a stew” moment. What can I say, I’m a writer and I never stop creating, especially in the kitchen.

  •   Pour 12 cups of water into crock-pot
  • plop in 4 onion, and 4 garlic Spanish bullion cubes, and 1 Tbsp. chicken “better than bullion” paste.
  • 6 cubes chicken breasts
  • 3 or 4 celery stalks (cut up)
  • 1 cup or so of fresh or frozen peas (if using canned, throw in 1 hour before ready to serve.)
  • sliced carrots ( I did a half of a small bag of baby ones)
  • 2 summer squash, cubed
  • 1/4 cup of quonia
  • 1 can of drained garbanzo beans
  • Rosemary garlic seasoning by Tones
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

Cook for 4-6 hours. One hour before it’s done stir in 1-2 Tbsp. pesto and squeeze in 1 lemon.

Seriously It was one of the easiest soups I have ever made. Enjoy

(next week I will post my black bean brownies)

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

