Homemade honey ice cream

I have been experimenting with all types of natural sweeteners other than sugar to be able to post some incredible recipes to give to you. I am very
excited to say I have had some great success, but want to see if I can repeat the successes before posting them. If you like recess peanut butter cups keep a look out, because I have made a healthy version using unrefined coconut oil and other amazingly super healthy ingredients. Imagine a fudge that tastes better than a recess but actually has healing properties in it. That and many more will be posted hopefully within the next month.

Now I must let you in on my favorite sweetener….let’s see if you can guess: My name Pamela means sweet as_ _ _ _ _, I work for a bee keeper, and it’s in the title of this next recipe. HONEY! I not only love it because it is all natural and it actually has antibiotics in it, it never spoils, but also because it tastes so good. Also if you’re able to get local honey it helps cure allergies.

Ingredients:

  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 2/3 c. honey
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 3 c. half-and-half
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  1. Whisk together eggs, honey, and salt in small bowl. set aside.
  2. In a med. saucepan bring half-and half to a full simmer
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Slowly add 1 cup of the simmering cream mix to the egg-honey mixture while whisking, then return the egg and cream mixture to the saucepan.
  5. Again bring to a simmer over med. low heat, stirring constantly until the custard thickens enough to coat a spoon. (about 4 min.)
  6. Add the tsp. of vanilla (my favorite is Mexican vanilla).
  7. chill in fridge for 3 hrs or I like to make it the day before.
  8. Process custard in ice cream maker according to instructions.  Add soft add-in ingredients half way through freezing or chunky ingredients during the last 2 to 5 minutes.

If you tried this recipe and added your own mixins, I would love to hear what combinations you came up with.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

