Kale Soup

As my family and I sat huddled around our pellet stove, I decided it was time to make soup.  I pulled out some of my Portuguese heritage, and added some extra veggies and Quinoa  for protein and nutrients.

Ingredients:

  1. 12 c. water
  2.  2 each seasoning cubes (found in Spanish section of groc. store) knorr garlic and onion
  3.  2 large chicken bullion cubes
  4.  small jar of sun-dried tomatoes in oil
  5.  1 can garbanzo beans (any beans would work)
  6.  dashes to taste of parsley, turmeric, cumin,cayenne
  7. 1 package turkey kielbasa cut up
  8. 1 bunch kale with stems removed and sliced thin
  9. 1 zucchini and 1 summer squash, and a handful of carrots diced
  10. 1/4c. quinoa 

Add all the seasonings together with the water on medium high heat. Then add everything but kale and quinoa.  cook for about 15 min. Put in kale  and quinoa and stir and let flavors combine for about ten more minutes. Enjoy and keep warm:)

2 Comments

December 10, 2011 · 7:16 pm

2 responses to “Kale Soup

  1. I feel like this got cut off randomly… Is this all?

    • That is because it did. I am so sorry, while uploading a picture I accidentally posted it before I had a chance to finish it. Hope you enjoy it. What I like about it is really you can add or take away veggies, adding different seasonings to your preferences. I cook a lot with handfuls and eyeballing instead of exact measurements and this recipe is very forgiving. Add some Parmesan cheese to top it off. I think I will have a bowl right now in your honor:)

Leave a Reply

